Old Mutual | Do Great Things | Om die Dam Marathon
Running  ›  Landing DGT  ›  Om Die Dam race results

Om Die Dam race results

William Makwalakwale won the Old Mutual Om Die Dam 50km in 2 hours 51 minutes and 5 seconds leaving over 6,000 runners strung out around the dam in his wake.

Heavy mist and cool weather greeted the massive field as they headed across the dam wall with the contenders coming to the fore on the Kommando Nek climb.

By half way the leaders had been whittled to a quartet of Elias Mabane (Nedbank), Philip Molefe (Rustenberg), Lukas Nonyana (ABSA), and Mokwalakwala who was content to sit just off the front shoulders.

Mabane, who won the 2011 Forever Loskop 50k in an age-group record time, looked the part of a victor until the Saartjies climb where Mokwalakwala appeared the stronger.

The Toyota man shadowed Mabane down into the lower streets of Schoemanville before using the penultimate climb to take the reigns. The kick was devastating with Mokwalakwala crashing through the tape fully two and a half minute clear of Mabane and over a kilometre clear of third placed Nonyane who finished in 2:54:15.

“I’m very happy. This was intended to test my fitness in preparation for Comrades; winning was a bonus,” said Mokwalakwala who trains under the guidance of triathlon exponent Glen Gore. “Comrades is the real focus. I’ve done 6:09 before, but I want a top three this year.”

There was little changing of positions amongst the top five that dipped under the three-hour barrier. As an IAU (International Association of Ultrarunning) bronze label event the top finishers are world-ranked and can qualify for places in the World 50km Trophy later in the year.

Mabane added the 40-49 category to his second place with Butuki Jantjies second in the age group and closing the top ten in 3:07:33.

“I don’t know what happened in the final 6k. It was not an age thing; age means nothing – this time did not scare me- it’s just a mind thing. I had come to win and I know I can go faster,” said Mabane who plans to defend his Loskop 50km title in April.

“I’m going after the open record there. I want a 2:44,” said the Nedbank runner who already has the 40 plus record of 2:47 to his name. “It’s all part of my build up to Comrades and there isn’t an age-group runner who will beat me there this year.”

It was a gun to tape performance from Chiyedza Chokore who earned her third title in three hours 35 minutes six seconds. The Zimbabwean won in both 2009 and 2010 before placing second behind her sister in 2011.

“I was pleased to win, but would have preferred a faster time. I missed running with my sister as she helps to maintain the pace,” said Ckokore. “I hope to go to Loskop 50km later in April.”

Julanie Basson, who won the Vaal Marathon in two hours 50 minutes in early March, was the nearest contender, but finished 500 metres adrift in 3:37:05. Basson is fast become the mainstay of a strong Toyota team whose main focus is Comrades on 3 June.

Ndofhiwa Mandiwana closed the podium in three hours 45minutes 34 seconds for third place while Comrades gold medalist Kashmira Parbhoo, who is back in her Lenasia colours, was fourth in 3:46:44.

The long climb back to the finish also provided Lewis Masunda with the opportunity to secure victory as he moved away from Vusi Malobola to take the title in one hour seven minutes and one second. Malobola’s Bonita’s club-mate Johannes Kekana was third in 68 minutes 20 seconds

Rutendo Nyahora had over 600 metres in hand over Tshifhiwa Mundalamo when she secured the ladies half marathon title in 79 minutes 22 seconds with Cornelia Joubert in third in 86:52.

The Old Mutual Om Die Dam attracted a record field of over 10,000 runners between the 10km, 21km and 50km distances.

Race races and times

50km Men:

1 William Mokwalakwala Toyota 2:51:05,
2 Elias Mabane Nedbank 2:53:40,
3 Lukas Nonyana ABSA 2:54:15,
4 Stephen Molepo Nedbank 2:56:46,
5 Claude Moshiywa Nedbank 2:59:12

40-49 1 Elias Mabane Nedbank 2:53:40, 2 Butuki Jantjies Mr Price 3:07:33

50-59 1 Elias Letlape Nedbank 3:34:39, Joseph Morowna Boksburg 3:40:12

60+ Theo Swanepoel Kempton 4:08:01 2 Ponchi Maja Magnolia 4:35:01

70+ Pele Tshikundamalema Vyebo Striders 5:05:39

Team Nedbank:

50km Women:

1 Chiyedza Chokore Mr Price 3:35:06,
2 Julanie Basson Toyota 3:37:05,
3 Ndofhiwa Mandiwana Bidvest 3:45:34,
4 Kashmira Parbhoo Lenasia 3:46:44,
5 Carien Visser Tuks 3:48:25

40-49: Carien Visser Tuks 3:48:25, 2 Vanessa Bowman Kempton 4:08:14

50-59 1 sue Harrisburg RAC 4:16:00, 2 Val Watson New Balance 4:35:01

60-69 1 Penny Visser Midrand 5:11:22, Sue Beard Dosco 5:27:02

70- Willemien Smits Nedbank Bloem 5:46:10

Team Irene

21km Men:

1 Lewis Masunda Nedbank 1;07:01, 2 Vusi Malobola 1:07:55, 3 Johannes Kekana Bonitas 1:08:20

40-49: Piet Mosebedi Transnet 1:11:52, 2 Bheki Nene ADT 1:17:22

50-59 Ambrose Klassen Jaguars 1:28:32, 2 Paulus Mofokeng Nedbank 1:29:29

60-69 1 Amon Zibuse Randmarc 1:31:48

70+ Keith Jolly Alberton 1:53:34

21km Women:

1 Rutendo Nyahora nedbank 1:19:22, 2 Tshifhiwa Mundalamo Bonitas 1:22:31, 3 Cornelia Joubert Nedbank 1:26:52

40-49 Paulina Phaho Transnet 1;28:48, 2 Jill Oliphant 1:34:40

50-59 Wilma Pretorius IND 1:46:02, 2 Suzette Venter Goudveld Multisport 1:53:53

60-69 Maz Moore Midrand 2:10:59

70+ Mavis Stadler Agape 2:20:32